Night Film: A Novel

It’s been a couple of days since my last post.  No excuses for this post being late, except I got caught up in a good book.  I borrowed a copy of “Night Film: A Novel” by Marisha Pessl from my library.  A little fact about me, I do judge a book by it’s cover.  I’m terrible at that.  I also usually read trashy historical romance novels.  They’re my kryptonite.  However I made a deal with my kids this summer, they read something other than Diary of whatever and other popular books steered towards the upper elementary school ages, and I’ll read something not historically romantic.  It’s a win win.

So anyway, I saw a pin on pinterest that included this book and thought I would try it.  Here’s the description of the book, taken from Amazon:

“On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.”

 

Lovely, isn’t it?  The book sucked me in.  The only time when I put it down was when life need attention.  It took me 3 days to read this book, finally finishing at 12:30am this morning, only because I felt like a quitter if I considered putting it down to sleep so close to the ending.  The ending was written in a true Cordova style, leaving unanswered possibilities as to what happens next.

i give it 4 stars.  It is long (I’m a fast reader, usually finishing a novel in a few hours, this one took me a few days), the ending isn’t what I would have expected, and there’s a lot of details.  Those are the cons.  The pros: it keeps you interested.  I love that I felt like part of the team when the articles and such popped in.  It gave me more background into the mystery of Stanislas Cordova

It’s an excellent read.  I recommend it. 

 

I borrowed and read this book for my own pleasure, and have written this review mainly as someone who is telling a friend.  I have not received any sort of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. 

Leave a comment