Crockpot Baked Potato Soup

I like trying new recipes, especially when they look super yummy.  This one did just that.

potato soup2_thumb[2]

Can’t tell me this doesn’t look good.  Team Carroll at Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour featured this a while back, and I finally got around to trying it.

100_0278

I threw everything in but the cream cheese.  I didn’t have any cream of chicken soup, so I did a mixture of flour, broth, and butter for substitute.  Let it cook for about 7 hours, adding the cream cheese in very small chunks an hour and a half before serving.  The cream cheese is added when super soft (I left it out all day to make sure of it) and it is supposed to melt in the soup, making it all creamy.

100_0279

It didn’t.  You can see in this picture the cream cheese totally didn’t melt, at all, didn’t blend, makes it look pretty yucky in fact.  That wasn’t going to stop us however, and I dished up bowls with promises of pizza if all went wrong.

100_0280

Added toppings of bacon, sour cream, shredded cheese, and I even added broccoli to mine, we took the first bite, and, surprise, we loved it!

Next time I may forgo the cream cheese, and just add sour cream, because that gave it the look of creaminess I was searching for.  I may also cook it longer, the potatoes were a little hard yet.  They were soft enough to eat, but not mushy soft either.

I give this recipe a B-.  Good flavor, easy to make, but problems with not melting cream cheese, and hard potatoes.

Leave a Reply

